JEAN 15 : 1 À 27 + ***JOHN 15 : 1 à 27 + NOTES TO JOHN MACARTHUR

31/07/2015 12:10

JEAN 15 : 1 À 27 + ***

1 ¶  Je suis le vrai cep, et mon Père est le vigneron.

Je suis le vrai cep. C’est la dernière des sept fois (dans l’Évangile de Jean) où Jésus proclame sa divinité par la formule « je suis » (voir #Jn 6:35 ; #Jn 8:12 ; #Jn 10:7, #Jn 10:9 ; #Jn 10:11, #Jn 10:14 ; #Jn 11:25 ; #Jn 14: 6).

15:1-17 Avec cette longue métaphore de la vigne et des branches, Jésus établit les bases de la vie chrétienne. La vigne et les vendanges étaient très présentes dans le monde agricole de l’époque (voir aussi #Mt 20:1-16 ; #Mt 21:23-41 ; #Mr 12:1-9 ; #Lu 13:6-9 ; #Lu 20:9-16). Dans l’A.T., la vigne est couramment utilisée pour symboliser Israël (#Ps 80:9-17 ; #Esa 5:1-7 ; #Esa 27:2-6 ; #Jér 2:21 ; #Jér 12:10 ; #Ez 15:1-8 ; #Ez 17:1-21 ; #Ez 19:10-14 ; #Os 10:1-2). Jésus se désigne de façon explicite comme la vraie vigne, et son Père comme le vigneron, qui s’occupe de la vigne. La vigne possède deux types de branches:

1° celles qui portent du fruit (vv. #Jn 15: 2, #Jn 15: 8) et

2° celles qui n’en portent pas (vv. #Jn 15: 2, #Jn 15: 6).

Les branches porteuses de fruit sont les croyants authentiques. Dans le contexte, Jésus parlait des onze disciples qui lui étaient restés fidèles, mais l’image englobe aussi tous les croyants de tous les temps. Les branches nues sont ceux qui professent croire, mais dont le manque de fruit indique qu’un salut authentique ne s’est jamais opéré et qu’ils ne reçoivent pas la vie du cep. Dans le contexte immédiat, c’était Judas qui était visé, mais l’image s’étend à tous ceux qui prétendent croire en Christ sans être réellement sauvés. L’image du feu fait avec les branches stériles représente le jugement eschatologique et le rejet éternel (voir #Ez 15:6-8).

2  Tout sarment qui est en moi et qui ne porte pas de fruit, il le retranche ; et tout sarment qui porte du fruit, il l’émonde, afin qu’il porte encore plus de fruit.

il le retranche. Dans cette image, le vigneron (c’est-à-dire le Père) coupe le bois mort pour que le bois vivant, les branches qui portent du fruit, puisse être vu distinctement. Cela représente les chrétiens apostats qui n’ont jamais vraiment cru et seront exclus au jour du jugement (v. #Jn 15: 6 ; #Mt 7:16 ; #Ep 2:10); la vie régénératrice de Christ n’a jamais coulé en eux (#Jn 8:31-32 ; cf. #Mt 13:18-23 ; #Mt 24: 12 ; #Hé 3:14-19 ; #Hé 6:4-8 ; #Hé 10:27-31 ; #1Jn 2:19 ; #2Jn 9).

 

il l’émonde. Dieu retire de la vie des croyants tout ce qui pourrait gêner la croissance du fruit: il les châtie pour supprimer le péché et tout ce qui pourrait faire obstacle à leur vie spirituelle, tout comme un agriculteur enlève tout ce qui empêche les branches de porter le maximum de fruits (#Hé 12:3-11).

3  Déjà vous êtes purs, à cause de la parole que je vous ai annoncée.

4  Demeurez en moi, et je demeurerai en vous. Comme le sarment ne peut de lui-même porter du fruit, s’il ne demeure attaché au cep, ainsi vous ne le pouvez non plus, si vous ne demeurez en moi.

Demeurez en moi. Le mot « demeurer » implique que l’on reste auprès de quelqu’un. Le fait que l’on « demeure » prouve que le salut est effectivement intervenu (#1Jn 2:19); la logique ne peut être ici inversée. Le fruit, ou la preuve, du salut se trouve dans la persistance de l’attachement à Dieu et à ses enseignements (#Jn 8:31 ; #Col 1:23 ; #1Jn 2:24). Le croyant qui persévère (« demeure ») est le seul véritable. Persévérance et foi sont toutes les deux en rapport avec l’authenticité du salut (#Hé 3:6-19).

A propos de la persévérance des saints, Cf. #Mt 10:22. Ceux qui persévèrent sont ceux-là mêmes qui sont sauvés, par opposition à ceux dont l’amour se refroidit (v. #Mt 24: 12). Cela ne signifie pas que la persévérance soit garante du salut. Dans maints passages, l’Écriture enseigne précisément le contraire: c’est Dieu qui assure notre persévérance, et cela fait partie de son œuvre de salut. Les vrais croyants sont « gardés par la foi pour le salut » (#1Pi 1:5). La garantie de notre persévérance est gravée dans la promesse de la nouvelle alliance. Dieu dit: « Je mettrai ma crainte dans leur cœur, afin qu’ils ne s’éloignent pas de moi » (#Jér 32:40). Ceux qui chutent et s’éloignent de Christ prouvent de manière formelle qu’ils n’ont jamais été de vrais croyants (#1Jn 2:19). Cependant, le fait que Dieu est le garant de notre persévérance ne signifie pas pour autant que nous devions rester passifs dans ce processus. Il nous garde « par la foi » (#1Pi 1:5), par notre foi. L’Écriture nous invite quelquefois à retenir fermement notre foi (#Hé 10:23 ; #Ap 3:11) ou nous met en garde contre la chute (#Hé 10:26-29). De tels avertissements n’annulent pas les nombreuses promesses qui parlent de la persévérance des vrais croyants (#Jn 10:28-29 ; #Ro 8:38-39 ; #1Co 1:8-9 ; #Ph 1:6). Les avertissements et les appels font au contraire partie des moyens que Dieu utilise pour préserver notre persévérance dans la foi. Il est intéressant de remarquer que les avertissements et les promesses vont souvent de pair. Ainsi, p. ex., lorsque Jude exhorte les croyants à se maintenir « dans l’amour de Dieu » (#Jude 21), il les oriente aussitôt vers Dieu, « qui peut vous préserver de toute chute » (#Jude 24).

5  Je suis le cep, vous êtes les sarments. Celui qui demeure en moi et en qui je demeure porte beaucoup de fruit, car sans moi vous ne pouvez rien faire.

6  Si quelqu’un ne demeure pas en moi, il est jeté dehors, comme le sarment, et il sèche ; puis on ramasse les sarments, on les jette au feu, et ils brûlent.

Il y a ici une image de destruction (cf. #Mt 3:10-12 ; #Mt 5:22 ; #Mt 13:40-42, #Mt 13: 50 ; #Mt 25: 41 ; #Mr 9:43-49 ; #Lu 3:17 ; #2Th 1:7-9 ; #Ap 20:10-15). Elle illustre le jugement réservé à ceux qui n’ont jamais été sauvés.

7  Si vous demeurez en moi, et que mes paroles demeurent en vous, demandez ce que vous voudrez, et cela vous sera accordé.

15:7-10 Les vrais croyants obéissent aux commandements du Seigneur en se soumettant à sa Parole (#Jn 14: 21, #Jn 14: 23). Du fait de leur engagement envers la Parole de Dieu, ils sont dévoués à sa volonté, et ainsi leurs prières portent beaucoup de fruit (#Jn 14:13-14); leur exaucement démontre la gloire de Dieu.

8  Si vous portez beaucoup de fruit, c’est ainsi que mon Père sera glorifié, et que vous serez mes disciples.

9 ¶  Comme le Père m’a aimé, je vous ai aussi aimés. Demeurez dans mon amour.

15:9-10

Demeurez dans mon amour. Cf. #Jude 21. Il n’y a rien d’émotionnel ni de mystique ici, mais il s’agit, comme le définit le v. 10, d’obéissance. Jésus en a donné un exemple par sa parfaite obéissance au Père, et il doit servir de norme pour définir l’obéissance que nous devons aussi à Dieu.

10  Si vous gardez mes commandements, vous demeurerez dans mon amour, de même que j’ai gardé les commandements de mon Père, et que je demeure dans son amour.

11  Je vous ai dit ces choses, afin que ma joie soit en vous, et que votre joie soit parfaite.

que votre joie soit parfaite. A l’exemple de Jésus qui affirmait que son obéissance au Père était le fondement de sa joie, les croyants qui obéissent à ses commandements connaîtront la même joie (#Jn 17: 13 ; cf. #Jn 16: 24).

12  C’est ici mon commandement : Aimez-vous les uns les autres, comme je vous ai aimés.

Cf. #Jn 13:34-35. L’amour envers les frères est le quatrième indice de l’authenticité de la communion. Si le point central du test moral réside dans la notion d’obéissance au commandement d’aimer, c’est parce que l’amour est l’accomplissement de la loi (#Mt 22:34-40 ; #Ro 13:8-10 ; #Ja 2:8) et qu’il constitue le nouveau commandement de Christ (#Jn 13: 34 ; #Jn 15: 12, #Jn 15: 17). Avoir une réelle connaissance de Dieu, c’est aimer. La lumière de Dieu est la lumière de l’amour, de sorte que marcher dans la lumière revient à marcher dans l’amour.

13  Il n’y a pas de plus grand amour que de donner sa vie pour ses amis.

Allusion à la preuve et à l’expression suprêmes de l’amour de Jésus (v. #Jn 15: 12), c’est-à-dire sa mort sacrificielle à la croix. Les chrétiens sont appelés à se témoigner mutuellement cette générosité prête au sacrifice, même si cela implique de donner sa vie en imitation de l’exemple de Christ (cf. #1Jn 3:16).

14  Vous êtes mes amis, si vous faites ce que je vous commande.

15:14-15

amis. Abraham était appelé ami de Dieu (#2Ch 20: 7 ; #Ja 2:23) parce que Dieu s’était révélé à lui et qu’il avait cru à cette révélation, ce qui lui donnait un accès privilégié à la pensée de Dieu. De même, ceux qui suivent Christ jouissent du privilège de révélations extraordinaires par l’entremise du Messie, le Fils de Dieu, et en croyant ils deviennent, eux aussi, des « amis » de Dieu. C’est pour ses « amis » que le Seigneur a donné sa vie (v. #Jn 15: 13 ; #Jn 10:11, #Jn 10:15, #Jn 10:17).

15  Je ne vous appelle plus serviteurs, parce que le serviteur ne sait pas ce que fait son maître ; mais je vous ai appelés amis, parce que je vous ai fait connaître tout ce que j’ai appris de mon Père.

16  Ce n’est pas vous qui m’avez choisi ; mais moi, je vous ai choisis, et je vous ai établis, afin que vous alliez, et que vous portiez du fruit, et que votre fruit demeure, afin que ce que vous demanderez au Père en mon nom, il vous le donne.

moi, je vous ai choisis. Cf. v. #Jn 15: 19. Pour prévenir toute prétention et tout orgueil spirituel parmi les disciples du fait de leurs privilèges, Jésus leur expliqua clairement qu’ils n’en jouissaient pas du fait de leurs propres mérites, mais parce que c’était lui qui les avait souverainement choisis. Lorsque Dieu choisit Israël (#Esa 45:4 ; #Am 3:2), ce n’était pas en raison des mérites de ce peuple (#De 7:7 ; #De 9:4-6). Les anges furent élus par Dieu pour rester saints éternellement (#1Ti 5:21). Les croyants ont été élus pour le salut, en dehors de tout mérite (#Mt 24: 24, #Mt 24: 31.

portiez du fruit. L’un des objectifs de l’élection souveraine par Dieu, c’est que les disciples qui ont été bénis d’une telle révélation portent du fruit spirituel. Le N.T. définit ce fruit en termes d’attitude pieuse (#Ga 5:22), de conduite juste (#Ph 1:11), de louange (#Hé 13: 15) et, en particulier, de capacité d’en amener d’autres à la foi en Jésus, Messie et Fils de Dieu (#Ro 1:13-16).

17  Ce que je vous commande, c’est de vous aimer les uns les autres.

18 ¶  Si le monde vous hait, sachez qu’il m’a haï avant vous.

15:18-19 Puisque Satan est celui qui domine le système mauvais du monde en rébellion contre Dieu (#Jn 14: 30), le monde ne déteste pas seulement Jésus, mais tous ceux qui le suivent (#2Ti 3:12). Haïr Jésus signifie aussi haïr le Père qui l’a envoyé (v. #Jn 15: 23).

19  Si vous étiez du monde, le monde aimerait ce qui est à lui ; mais parce que vous n’êtes pas du monde, et que je vous ai choisis du milieu du monde, à cause de cela le monde vous hait.

20  Souvenez-vous de la parole que je vous ai dite : Le serviteur n’est pas plus grand que son maître. S’ils m’ont persécuté, ils vous persécuteront aussi ; s’ils ont gardé ma parole, ils garderont aussi la vôtre.

serviteur …  maître. Cet axiome, cité aussi en #Jn 13: 16, reflète la vérité évidente qui poussa Jésus à avertir ses disciples: ils devaient s’attendre à être traités comme lui, car ceux qui le détestaient ne connaissaient pas Dieu (v. #Jn 15: 21) et les détesteraient donc autant; à l’inverse, ceux qui écoutaient le Christ avec foi les écouteraient, eux aussi.

21  Mais ils vous feront toutes ces choses à cause de mon nom, parce qu’ils ne connaissent pas celui qui m’a envoyé.

22  Si je n’étais pas venu et que je ne leur eusse point parlé, ils n’auraient pas de péché ; mais maintenant ils n’ont aucune excuse de leur péché.

ils n’auraient pas de péché. Jésus ne voulait pas dire que, sans sa venue, ils auraient été sans péché, mais que sa venue les amenait à commettre les péchés les plus graves et les plus mortels: ceux consistant à se rebeller contre les vérités divines et à rejeter Dieu. Il s’agit ici du péché capital: rejeter Jésus, opter délibérément pour les ténèbres au lieu de la lumière, pour la mort plutôt que pour la vie. Il avait fait tant de miracles et donné tant d’indications pour attester qu’il était bien le Messie et le Fils de Dieu! Malgré tout, ils avaient choisi de se mettre en guerre contre le Sauveur, tant était grand leur amour du péché et leur rejet de Dieu. Voir #Hé 4:2-5 ; #Hé 6:4-6 ; #Hé 10:29-31.

23  Celui qui me hait, hait aussi mon Père.

24  Si je n’avais pas fait parmi eux des œuvres que nul autre n’a faites, ils n’auraient pas de péché ; mais maintenant ils les ont vues, et ils ont haï et moi et mon Père.

25  Mais cela est arrivé afin que s’accomplît la parole qui est écrite dans leur loi : Ils m’ont haï sans cause.

Jésus cite #Ps 35:19 ; #Ps 69:5. La logique ici est que si David  un simple homme - avait pu subir tant de haine, les méchants détesteraient à bien plus forte raison le divin et parfait descendant de David: Christ, le roi promis, qui s’opposerait au péché et régnerait pour l’éternité sur son royaume de justice (voir #2S 7:16).

26 ¶  Quand sera venu le consolateur, que je vous enverrai de la part du Père, l’Esprit de vérité, qui vient du Père, il rendra témoignage de moi ;

15:26-27

Quand sera venu le consolateur. De nouveau, Jésus promet d’envoyer le Saint-Esprit (#Jn 7:39 ; #Jn 14:16-17, #Jn 14: 26 ; #Jn 16: 7, #Jn 16:13-14). Cette fois-ci, il met l’accent sur l’aide apportée par le Saint-Esprit pour le témoignage, la proclamation de l’Évangile.

27  et vous aussi, vous rendrez témoignage, parce que vous êtes avec moi dès le commencement.

 

JOHN 15 : 1 à 27 + NOTES TO JOHN MACARTHUR

1 ¶ I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener.

I am the true vine. This is the last of seven times (in the Gospel of John) where Jesus proclaims his divinity by the formula "I am" (see #Jn 6:35; 8:12 #Jn; #Jn 10: 7, #Jn 10: 9; 10:11 #Jn, #Jn 10:14; 11:25 #Jn; #Jn 14: 6).

15: 1-17 With this long metaphor of the vine and the branches, Jesus established the foundation of the Christian life. The vine and the harvest were very active in the agricultural world of the time (see also #Mt 20: 1-16; #Mt 21: 23-41; #Mr 12: 1-9; #Lu 13: 6-9 ; #Lu 20: 9-16). In the OT, the vine is commonly used to symbolize Israel (#PS 80: 9-17; #Esa 5: 1-7; #Esa 27: 2-6; Jer 2:21 #; # Jer 24:10; #Ez 15: 1-8; #Ez 17: 1-21; #Ez 19: 10-14; #Os 10: 1-2). Jesus refers explicitly as the true vine and his Father as the winemaker, who takes care of the vineyard. The vine has two types of branches:

1 ° those that bear fruit (vv #Jn. 15: 2, #Jn 15: 8)

2. those who do not wear (#Jn vv. 15: 2, #Jn 15: 6).

The fruit bearing branches are the true believers. In context, Jesus spoke of eleven disciples who had remained loyal to him, but the image also includes all believers of all time. The bare branches are those who profess to believe, but the lack of fruit indicates that genuine salvation has never operated and do not receive life from the vine. In the immediate context, it was Judas who was targeted, but the image extends to all those who claim to believe in Christ without actually being saved. The image of fire is with barren branches represents the eschatological judgment and eternal rejection (see #Ez 15: 6-8).

2 Every branch in me that beareth not fruit he takes away; and every branch that does bear fruit he prunes, that it may bear more fruit.

He takes away. In this image, the winemaker (that is to say, the Father) cut the dead wood for the living wood, branches that bear fruit, to be seen clearly. This represents the apostate Christians who never really believed and will be excluded in the judgment (v #Jn. 15: 6; 7:16 #Mt; #EP 2:10); regenerative life of Christ never cast them (#Jn 8: 31-32; cf. #Mt 13: 18-23; #Mt 24: 12; Hey # 3: 14-19; Heb 6 # 4 -8; # Heb 10: 27-31; 1 John 2:19 #; # 2Jn 9).

he prunes. God takes the lives of believers anything that might hinder the growth of the fruit: it punishes sin and to remove anything that might hinder their spiritual life as a farmer removes all that prevents branches to wear Maximum fruit (# Heb 12: 3-11).

3 You are already clean because of the word which I have spoken unto you.

4 Remain in me, and I in you. As the branch can not itself bear fruit unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me.

Abide in me. The word "dwell" implies that we stay with someone. The fact that it "remains" proves that salvation becomes effective (# 1 Jn 2:19); logic can be reversed here. The fruit, or the evidence of salvation is in the continuing attachment to God and his teachings (#Jn 8:31; #Col 1:23; 1 Jn 2:24 #). The believer who perseveres ("home") is the real one. Perseverance and faith are both related to the authenticity of salvation (Heb # 3: 6-19).

About the patience of the saints see #Mt 10:22. Those who persevere are the very ones who are saved, as opposed to those whose love cools (v #Mt. 24: 12). This does not mean that perseverance is a guarantee of salvation. In many passages, Scripture teaches precisely the opposite: it is God who assures our perseverance, and that's part of his work of salvation. The believers are "guarded through faith for salvation" (1 Peter # 1: 5). The guarantee of our perseverance is engraved in the promise of the new covenant. God said, "I will put my fear in their heart, that they may not depart from me" (Jeremiah 32:40 #). Those who fall away from Christ and formally prove that they were never true believers (1 John 2:19 #). However, the fact that God is the guarantor of our perseverance does not mean that we should remain passive in this process. It keeps us "through faith" (1 Peter # 1: 5), by our faith. Scripture calls us sometimes to hold fast our faith (Heb 10:23 #; #Ap 3:11) and warns us against falling (# Heb 10: 26-29). Such warnings do not cancel the many promises that talk about the perseverance of true believers (#Jn 10: 28-29; #Ro 8: 38-39; 1 Cor # 1: 8-9; #Ph 1: 6). Warnings and calls are instead part of the means God uses to preserve our perseverance in the faith. It is interesting to note that the warnings and promises often go together. Thus, p. ex., when Jude exhorts believers to remain "in the love of God" (#Jude 21), he immediately refers them to God, "that can preserve you from falling" (#Jude 24).

5 I am the vine, ye are the branches. Whoever remains in me and I in him, bears much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.

6 If a man abide not in me, he is cast forth as a branch, and is withered; then the branches are gathered, thrown into the fire and burned.

There is here a destructive image (cf. #Mt 3: 10-12; 5:22 #Mt; #Mt 13: 40-42, #Mt 13: 50; #Mt 25: 41; 9:43 #Mr -49; #Lu 3:17; # 2Th 1: 7-9; #Ap 20: 10-15). It illustrates the judgment reserved for those who have never been saved.

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be yours.

15: 7-10 The believers obey the commandments of God by submitting to His Word (#Jn 14: 21 #Jn 14: 23). Because of their commitment to the Word of God, they are devoted to his will, and their prayers bear much fruit (#Jn 14: 13-14); their fulfillment demonstrates the glory of God.

8 If you bear much fruit, it is my Father glorified, that ye be my disciples.

¶ 9 As the Father has loved me, I also have loved you. Remain in my love.

15: 9-10

Remain in my love. See #Jude 21. There is nothing mystical or emotional here, but it is, as defined by the v. 10, obedience. Jesus gave an example by his perfect obedience to the Father, and it should serve as a standard for defining the obedience we owe to God also.

10 If you keep my commandments, you will abide in my love, just as I have kept my Father's commandments, and abide in his love.

11 I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be full.

that your joy may be full. Following the example of Jesus who said that his obedience to the Father was the foundation of his joy, believers who obey his commandments experience the same joy (#Jn 17: 13; cf. #Jn 16: 24).

12 This is my command: Love each other as I have loved you.

See #Jn 13: 34-35. Love for the brethren is the fourth sign of the authenticity of communion. If the focus of the moral test lies in the notion of obedience to the commandment to love is because love is the fulfilling of the law (#Mt 22: 34-40; #Ro 13: 8 10; #Ja 2: 8) and that it is the new commandment of Christ (#Jn 13: 34; #Jn 15: 12 #Jn 15: 17). Have a real knowledge of God is to love. The light of God is the light of love, so walk in the light returns to walk in love.

13 There is no greater love than to lay down his life for his friends.

Referring to the evidence and the supreme expression of the love of Jesus (v #Jn. 15: 12), that is to say, his sacrificial death on the cross. Christians are called to testify this mutually generosity ready for sacrifice, even if it means giving his life in imitation of the example of Christ (cf. 1 Jn 3:16 #).

14 You are my friends if you do what I command you.

15: 14-15

friends. Abraham was called the friend of God (# 2Ch 20: 7; #Ja 2:23) because God had revealed to him and he believed this revelation, giving it privileged access to the mind of God . Similarly, those who follow Christ have the privilege of extraordinary revelations through the Messiah, the Son of God, and believing they become, too, "friends" of God. This is his "friends" that the Lord gave his life (v #Jn. 15: 13; #Jn 10:11 #Jn 10:15 #Jn 10:17).

15 I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, because I have made known to you everything I learned from my Father.

16 It is not you who chose me; but I have chosen you, and ordained you, that ye should go and you bear fruit and that your fruit should remain: that whatsoever ye shall ask the Father in My name He may give you.

I chose you. Cf. v. #Jn 15: 19. To prevent any pretension and spiritual pride among the disciples because of their privileges, Jesus explained to them clearly they did not have to because of their own merits, but because it was him who had sovereignly chosen. When God chose Israel (#Esa 45: 4; #AM 3: 2), it was not because of the merits of this people (# of 7: 7; # of 9: 4-6). Angels were chosen by God to remain holy forever (# 1Ti 5:21). Believers were elected to salvation, without any merit (#Mt 24: 24, #Mt 24: 31.

bear fruit. One of the objectives of sovereign election by God, is that the disciples who were blessed with such a revelation bear spiritual fruit. The NT defines this fruit in terms of pious attitude (5:22 #Ga) of right conduct (#Ph 1:11), praise (# Heb 13: 15) and, in particular, capacity to bring others to faith in Jesus the Messiah and Son of God (#Ro 1: 13-16).

17 These things I command you, that ye love one another.

18 ¶ If the world hates you, know that it hated me first.

15: 18-19 Since Satan is the one who dominates the wrong system in the world in rebellion against God (#Jn 14: 30), the world hates not only Jesus, but all those who follow (# 2Ti 3:12). Jesus also means hate hate the Father who sent him (v #Jn. 15: 23).

19 If you were of the world, the world would love its own; but because you are not of the world, and I have chosen you out of the world, therefore the world hates you.

20 Remember the word that I said unto you, The servant is not greater than his master. If they persecuted me, they will persecute you; if they have kept my saying, they will keep yours also.

... master servant. This axiom, also cited #Jn 13: 16, reflects the obvious truth that prompted Jesus to warn his disciples they should expect to be treated like him, for those who hated it did not know God (v #Jn 15. : 21) and detest so much; conversely, those who listened to Christ in faith listen to them, too.

21 But they will do all these things because of my name, because they know not him that sent me.

22 If I had not come and that I had spoken to them, they would not have sin; but now they have no excuse for their sin.

they would not have sin. Jesus did not say that, without his coming, they would have been without sin, but his arrival led them to commit the most serious and deadly sins: those consisting of rebelling against the divine truths and reject God. This is the cardinal sin: reject Jesus deliberately opt for darkness instead of light, to the death rather than life. He had done so many miracles and gave many signs to testify that he was the Messiah and the Son of God! Yet they chose to go to war against the Saviour, so great was their love of sin and rejection of God. Hey See # 4: 2-5; Hey # 6: 4-6; # Heb 10: 29-31.

23 He who hates me hates my Father.

24 If I had not done among them the works which no one else did, they would not have sin; but now they have seen and hated both me and my Father.

25 But this happened was to fulfill the word that is written in their law: They hated me without cause.

Jesus quotes #PS 35:19; #PS 69: 5. The logic here is that if David a simple man - could suffer so much hatred, evil would hate to much more will the divine and perfect descendant of David, Christ, the promised King who would oppose sin and reign for eternity in his kingdom of justice (see # 2S 7:16).

26 ¶ When the Comforter is come, whom I will send unto you from the Father, the Spirit of truth who proceeds from the Father, he shall testify of me;

15: 26-27

When the Comforter is come. Again, Jesus promises to send the Holy Spirit (7:39 #Jn; #Jn 14: 16-17, #Jn 14: 26; #Jn 16: 7, #Jn 16: 13-14). This time, he focuses on the assistance given by the Holy Spirit to the testimony, the proclamation of the Gospel.

27 and ye also bear witness, because you have been with me from the beginning.

https://cms.dieu-avant-tout-com.webnode.fr/

—————

Précédent